Esthetician Schools in Oregon
This could be the perfect time to begin your esthetician career in Oregon. While the number of jobs nationwide is growing by 17%, the state expects esthetics to grow by 55% over the next decade! Browse our directory of esthetician schools in Oregon, or skip ahead to learn about the state's esthetician licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Esthetician Schools in Oregon
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
1133 Northwest Wall Street Suite 102
Bend, OR 97703
15115 Southwest Sequoia Parkway Suite 200
Portland, OR 97224
Northwest College School of Beauty – Accredited
Happy Valley, OR 97086
Northwest College School of Beauty – Accredited
Hillsboro, OR 97123
Phagans' Grants Pass College of Beauty – Accredited
Grants Pass, OR 97526
You must attend a school that meets any licensure requirements as defined by your state. Most states require that you graduate from an accredited or state-approved school.
Esthetician Schools Near Me
- 444 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 5 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for estheticians in Oregon is $48,290.
- There is a predicted 55% job increase between 2020-2030 for estheticians.
The Oregon Board of Cosmetology oversees licensing for those who want to practice esthetics in Oregon.
To become an esthetician in Oregon, you must:
Once you get your license, state law requires that it be posted so your clients can easily see it.
Oregon Esthetics Careers
Average yearly salary for esthetics in Oregon
The Bureau of Labor Statistics (BLS) says Oregon estheticians averaged $48,290 ($23.22 hourly) in 2022. The top-earning 10% of estheticians in Oregon made $70,180 or more! Location, specialties, and experience affect pay.
The highest-paying metro areas for estheticians in Oregon are:
|Metro Area||2022 Median Salary|
Table information from O*Net (2023)
Oregon expects a massive esthetician job growth of 55% between 2020 and 2030. That's even more impressive when considering the national expectation of 17%!
What to Expect From an Esthetician Program in Oregon
Required to earn a esthetics license
You need 444 hours of training to get your Oregon esthetics license. But, many schools bring the number up to 500 and refer to their graduates as "master estheticians."
Note: Some states have "master esthetician" as an official license. This Oregon job title might not perfectly transfer to another state.
While every program is unique, students can generally expect to learn about:
Esthetician laws, theories, and business practices should also be covered.
Can I Apprentice as an Esthetician in Oregon?
No, you can't get an Oregon esthetician license via apprenticeship. Instead, you need to go through an approved esthetician school or program.
Oregon Esthetician Licensing Requirements
Once you've completed training, you're ready for the next step: your certification exams. Oregon estheticians take written, practical, and Oregon Laws and Rules tests.
The written exam happens at the Oregon Health Licensing Office (HLO). Meanwhile, your practical exam happens at your state-approved esthetician school, usually before graduation.
If your school doesn't offer an approved practical exam, you may take it elsewhere.
You get 90 minutes to complete your exam and may not bring any notes, books, or electronics into the exam area.
The Oregon Laws and Rules exam also lasts 90 minutes.
Not everyone passes on the first try. You can have up to six attempts before the Board of Cosmetology steps in to review whether you can retake the exam. If you don't pass your exams within two years of the initial application, you have to reapply and pay again.
The fees involved with certification are:
If you need accommodations under the ADA, you must request those in writing. Your request and supporting documentation need to be turned in at least 30 days before your test.
After passing written exams (at least 75% on each) and paying fees, you're a licensed esthetician. In fact, your certification is likely to be in your hands that same day!
Oregon Esthetician Licensure Reciprocity
If you want to move an esthetician license to Oregon from another state, you may be able to get reciprocity. But, you have to prove your license is in good standing.
You can do this in one of two ways:
The HLO decides if your license is equivalent to Oregon's. Even if it is, you need to take the Oregon Laws and Rules test. Your fee for authorization to practice by reciprocity is $65.
If you were in the military and were able to train in esthetics, you could also be eligible for reciprocity.
Esthetician vs. Master Esthetician vs. Advanced Esthetician Training in Oregon
Confusingly, in Oregon, some schools offering basic esthetics training call their programs "master esthetician" programs. However, this does not refer or lead to a more advanced license, and no experience as an esthetician is necessary to enter such a master esthetician program (basic esthetician program) in Oregon.
The state of Oregon does recognize an “advanced esthetician” licensure that requires additional training after obtaining your basic esthetician license—this is what most would consider a true master esthetician track. Oregon’s advanced esthetician designation allows graduates to perform advanced procedures most estheticians can't. These advanced procedures include using lasers or other devices to perform services such as tattoo removal, body contouring, microneedling, or chemical peels.
In other states, much of what is included in Oregon’s advanced esthetician designation might be closer to "medical esthetician" work.
If you want to become an advanced esthetician in Oregon, you need a basic Oregon esthetician license first. Then, you can begin an approved advanced esthetician program of at least 500 hours before applying for the advanced esthetician license.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
You must renew your license every two years, on the last day of your certification month. In other words, if you got your license in mid-May of 2023, it would be due for renewal by May 31, 2025. Your renewal fee is $65.
The HLO mails renewal applications about six weeks before expiration. So, remembering this schedule isn't totally on your shoulders.
If you don't renew on time, you have a three-year window in which to get your license back via renewal and late fees alone.
Contact the Oregon State Board of Esthetics
Resources for Estheticians in Oregon
This group was created to help Oregon estheticians share resources and information.
Oregon Esthetician Network
This is a community of Oregon estheticians who work in the spa and bodywork industry. It's designed to help promote the industry, support networking efforts, and more.