How Long Is Esthetician School?

How long esthetician school takes varies by state. Some require fewer than 400 hours, while others mandate up to 1,000. The amount of time this takes depends on your school and whether you attend part- or full-time, but the programs generally take around five to six months of full-time work.

You can explore specific training hour requirements based on your state board's esthetician licensing requirements.

In general, schools stick to the minimum number of esthetics training hours required by the state. Some last a bit longer to let students gain more experience. You could also spend more time in esthetician training if you decide to go for special certifications or a master esthetics license.

Esthetician Training Hours and Exams by State

State School Training Hours Apprenticeship Hours Exams Required
Alabama 1,000 2,000 Theory, practical
Alaska 350 350 Proficiency exam at school/program
Arizona 600 N/A Theory, practical
Arkansas 600 N/A Theory, practical
California 600 N/A Theory
Colorado 600 hours OR 20 credits N/A Theory, practical
Connecticut 600 N/A N/A
Delaware 600 1,200 Theory, practical
D.C. 600 N/A Theory, practical
Florida 220 (facial specialist) N/A N/A
Georgia 1,000 2,000 Theory, practical
Hawaii 600 1,200 Theory
Idaho 600 1,200 Theory, practical
Illinois 750 N/A Theory
Indiana 700 N/A Theory, practical
Iowa 600 N/A Theory
Kansas 1,000 N/A Theory
Kentucky 750 N/A Theory, practical
Louisiana 750 N/A Theory, practical
Maine 600 1,000 Theory, practical
Maryland 600 12 months at 20 hours/week Theory, practical
Massachusetts 300 N/A Theory, practical
Michigan 400 400 hours in 6 months Theory, practical
Minnesota 600 N/A Theory, practical
Mississippi 600 N/A Theory, practical
Missouri 750 1,500 Theory, practical
Montana 650 N/A Theory, practical
Nebraska 600 600 Theory
Nevada 600 1,200 Theory, practical
New Hampshire 600 1,200 Theory, practical
New Jersey 600 N/A Theory
New Mexico 600 N/A Theory, practical
New York 600 N/A Theory, practical
North Carolina 600 N/A Theory, practical
North Dakota 600 N/A Theory, practical
Ohio 600 N/A Theory, practical
Oklahoma 600 1,200 Theory, practical
Oregon 444 (including 220 practical operations) OR proven competency N/A Theory, practical
Pennsylvania 300 N/A Theory
Rhode Island 600 N/A Theory, practical
South Carolina 450 N/A Theory, practical
South Dakota 600 600 Theory
Tennessee 750 N/A Theory, practical
Texas 750 N/A Theory, practical
Utah 600 800 Theory, practical
Vermont 500 750 Theory, practical
Virginia 600 2,000 Theory, practical
Washington 750 2,144 Theory, practical
West Virginia 600 N/A Theory, practical
Wisconsin 450 450 Theory, practical
Wyoming 600 N/A Theory, practical

Sources: NIC State Education and Licensing Guide, state government pages (2022)

This chart only covers core esthetics programs. Advanced/master esthetics and esthetics instructor programs may have different requirements.

Esthetics/Skin Care