Alaska License Requirements
Last Updated: April 25, 2017
As an aspiring beauty professional in Alaska, you’ll need to meet the licensing requirements of the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers before starting your career. The school you choose must prepare you for your Board-administered exams and give you the training hours required by the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. Upon completing your education and demonstrating your skills in a satisfactory manner, you are required to pass a licensing exam issue by the Alaska State Board of Barbers and Hairdressers.
All applications must be submitted to the Alaska Division of Occupational Licensing, which oversees the Board of Barbers and Hairdressers. Alaska does allow apprenticeship training in place of traditional training hours. Alaska uses the NIC written exam, but they use their own examiners. The cosmetology licensing exam may be taken in English, Spanish, and Vietnamese in the state of Alaska. However, no interpreters are allowed when exams are being taken. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Alaska cosmetology license, which allows you to practice for up to two years.
Although Alaska does not currently require continuing education for beauty professionals, this is one of the best ways to keep your skills and knowledge up-to-date. For specific questions, please contact the Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers directly for more information.
Use our list of schools below to contact Alaska beauty schools and find the right barbering, cosmetology, esthetics, or nail technician school for you.
2017 Alaska Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- HAIRDRESSER LICENSE: 1650 Hours (2000 Apprenticeship)
- BARBERING LICENSE: 1650 Hours (2000 Apprenticeship)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 350 Hours (350 Apprenticeship)
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 250 Hours, 12-Hour Renewal Course
- ADVANCED MANICURIST LICENSE: 250 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP LICENSE: 380 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: 3 Years Experience as Practitioner + Exams, or 1 Year Experience + 600 Hours + Exams
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: Varies by Municipality
Alaska Cosmetology License Renewal
Alaska licensees must renew their licenses every odd-numbered year by the end of August. It costs $140 to renew a barber, hairdresser, esthetician, nail technician, or permanent cosmetic specialist license as long as you renew by the due date. The cost goes up to $180 after August 31. Instructors must pay $220 for an on-time renewal or $260 for a late renewal. Advanced manicurist endorsement renewal costs an additional $60.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Alaska
The Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers can help with cosmetology license transfers. Your training from your home state must be equal to or greater than the training requirements of Alaska. If you have at least 1500 training hours, you can use one year of full-time work experience to make up the difference. If you have at least 1000 hours, you can use two years of work experience to make up the difference. If you cannot prove that you meet the training requirements of Alaska, you need to complete your training hours at an Alaska school.
AK State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Alaska Board of Barbers and Hairdressers
P.O. Box 110806
Juneau, AK 99811-0806
333 Willoughby Avenue, 9th Floor
Juneau, AK 99801-1770
Phone Number: 907-465-2547
Fax Number: 907-456-2974
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Alaska Division of Occupational Licensing can help you with additional questions about obtaining an Alaska cosmetology license.