Minnesota License Requirements
Last Updated: April 25, 2017
In order to earn a license in cosmetology, esthetics or nail technology in the state of Minnesota, students must complete the requirements listed below from the Minnesota State Board of Cosmetologist Examiners. To meet the qualifications of the Minnesota State Board of Cosmetology Examiners, you must attend a licensed school with a qualified curriculum. Through the course of your training, you have to complete the state of Minnesota's minimum required training hours, which are listed below. You can then take the state's cosmetology board exams.
After finishing your training and submitting your application to the Board of Cosmetologist Examiners, you are required to pass the licensing exams administered by the Minnesota State Board of Cosmetologist Examiners. Once you have passed your exams, the Board will supply you with your license. You must pay a licensure fee of $139 for your first license.
With your license, you’re now able to work in the state of Minnesota in approved salons and beauty settings. As of 2014, Minnesota does have continuing education requirements in place for cosmetology professionals. During each renewal period, you must complete four continuing education credits. Your license must be renewed every three years.
For specific questions, please contact the Minnesota Board of Cosmetologist Examiners directly. The state of Minnesota does not allow apprenticeship to get your training hours. Minnesota uses PSI for their examinations. The state allows the licensing exam to be taken in English, Spanish, Vietnamese and Korean.
Minnesota Board of Cosmetology License Requirements (2017)
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1550 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: Contact the Minnesota Barbering Board
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 350 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP LICENSE: 400 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 1400 Hours Work Experience + 38 Training Hours + 3 Exams
- HAIR BRAIDER LICENSE: 30 Hours (Sanitation Course)
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: Varies by Municipality
Minnesota Cosmetology License Renewal
Beauty licenses are renewed every three years in Minnesota, and your license will expire on the last day of your birth month. Even if you received your license in December, that counts as year one. Operator licenses cost $81 to renew, and manager and cosmetology instructor license cost $114 to renew. A $45 late fee is assessed for any renewal that is not processed by the last date of your birth month. Minnesota requires four continuing education credits per renewal period. At least three of these hours must be in safety and sanitation. The remaining hour must focus on laws and statutes.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Minnesota
If you are currently licensed in your home state, you must show verification of your licensure from your home state, your high school diploma, completion of exams and an application for reciprocity with a $195 application fee. Your verification letter is good for up to 90 days.
If you are short on hours to meet Minnesota's minimum requirements, you may make up the difference by taking additional training hours either in Minnesota or your home state. You can also make up the difference with proof of at least three hours of work experience in your home state. To qualify for license transfer, you must have at least 1550 cosmetology training hours, 600 esthetician training hours, or 350 nail technician training hours.
MN State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Minnesota Board of Cosmetology
Minnesota Board of Cosmetology
1000 University Ave. W, Suite 100
St. Paul, MN 55104
Phone Number: 651-201-2742
eFax Number: 651-649-5702
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Minnesota State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Minnesota state cosmetology license.