North Dakota License Requirements
Last Updated: April 25, 2017
In order to get a North Dakota cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must meet the education and examination requirements of the North Dakota State Board of Cosmetology. Becoming a beauty practitioner in the state of North Dakota involves attending a licensed school for training. You can find a full listing of educational option on our site, and once you complete your cosmetology program, you should be prepared to take your exams and finish the licensing process.
The state of North Dakota does not allow apprenticeship as a way of completing your training hours. North Dakota uses PSI to administer the exam and allows you to take the boards in the English language only.
Once you pass the written and practical parts of your licensing exam, you can receive your North Dakota cosmetology license and start working. Keep in mind, even though North Dakota may not require CEUs to renew most licenses, you may wish to consider taking cosmetology continuing education hours to keep your skills sharp.
Find North Dakota beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in North Dakota.
2017 North Dakota Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1800 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours (Board of Barber Examiners)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 350 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 600 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License + 1 Year Work Experience + 160 Hours
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 750 Hours
North Dakota Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in North Dakota happens every year before December 31. The cost to renew your beauty practitioner license is $15, and the cost to renew your cosmetology instructor license is $20. Instructors need 8 hours of board-approved cosmetology continuing education. Before attending any seminar every instructor must apply in writing to the board to get the seminar approved. Cosmetology continuing education is not required for the other beauty practitioner licenses.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in North Dakota
If you are an out-of-state applicant applying for your North Dakota license, you must submit an application and pay the applicable fees to get your license without taking the licensure exams. You must provide proof that you are licensed as a cosmetologist, manicurist or esthetician in another state and that your license is in good standing.
You must also show that the requirements to get licensed in your home state are substantially equal to those in ND at the time of your application. Otherwise, you may be required to take the North Dakota board examinations for sanitation practices and cosmetology law.
ND State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
For specific questions, please contact the North Dakota Board of Cosmetology directly.