Arkansas License Requirements
Last Updated: April 25, 2017
If you’re ready to jump into a cosmetology career in Arkansas, you must first complete a number of steps laid out by the Arkansas Department of Health. The first step involves completing the minimum required training, which is determined by how many hours are required in each specialty.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issue by the Arkansas Department of Health. Arkansas does not allow apprenticeship to get beauty licensing. The cosmetology board exams may be taken in Spanish, English, Vietnamese or Korean. Barbering board exams may only be taken in English. By law since 1937, barber applicants who have been convicted of a felony must go before the barbering board to attend school and get licensed. Cosmetology exams are administered by PSI and are offered throughout Arkansas.
Once you have earned a passing score on the required exams for your specialty, you should receive your license within 7 to 10 business days.
You must keep up with license renewal in order to keep working in this field in Arkansas, although you may renew a lapsed license for up to five years after expiration. For specific questions, please contact the Arkansas Department of Health directly for more information.
An exciting beauty career begins with the right training. Contact Arkansas beauty schools to find out how you can start preparing for your chosen beauty career.
2017 Arkansas Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 600 Hours, or Cosmetology License + 350 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP LICENSE: Demonstrator License
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Valid Cosmetology License + 600 Hours
Arkansas Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology licenses in Arkansas must be renewed every two years in odd years by the licensee's birthday, This means that your initial license may be valid for less than two years. Regular practitioner licenses are $50 to renew and barber licenses are $40 to renew. Salons must renew their licenses every year by December 31 for a fee of $100. Currently, no continuing education hours are required to renew your cosmetology license in Arkansas, but CEUs are always recommended to stay current in the industry.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Arkansas
The Arkansas cosmetology board requires a reciprocity application and a $150 to transfer your license to Arkansas. Your home state should send a certification of records and training. You will have to take the Arkansas State Cosmetology Board Exam. If your home state requires fewer training hours to get your cosmetology license, you may have to take additional exams.
If you completed your barbering education as an apprentice, you may need to repeat your barber training in Arkansas. Your home state must have similar barbering hour requirements or you must have your barber license for three or more years. All reciprocity and transfer applications are considered on a case-by-case basis. International licensees must prove they are both licensed and experience before taking the practical exam.
AR State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology
4815 W. Markham St. Slot 8
Little Rock, AR 72205
Phone Number: 501-682-2168
Fax Number: 501-682-5640
The Arkansas State Board of Cosmetology can help you with obtaining an Arkansas state cosmetology license, replacing a lost cosmetology license or updating change of name or change of address information.