Nevada License Requirements
Last Updated: April 25, 2017
Nevada is known for its thriving customer service industries, thanks to the millions of tourists that visit the city every year. If you want to become part of this growing field and start a career in the beauty industry, you must get the right training at an accredited Nevada beauty school and meet the educational requirements of the Nevada State Board of Cosmetology.
The training requirements for all licensed beauty professions in Nevada are listed below—once you have met the training requirements for your specialty, you must take the required cosmetology exams through NIC. The state of Nevada does not typically allow apprenticeship to get your training hours. However, some exceptions may be made for cosmetology and electrology applicants who live more than 60 miles from the nearest school. Nevada uses the National Interstate Council (NIC) written test and allows you to take the written exams in English or Spanish.
Find Nevada beauty schools that can help you obtain a license in cosmetology, esthetics, nail technology and other beauty professions in Nevada.
2017 Nevada Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1600 Hours
- HAIR DESIGNER LICENSE: 1000 Hours
- HAIR BRAIDER LICENSE: 12 Months Work Experience
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours (Barber Health and Sanitation Board)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
- PERMANENT MAKEUP ARTIST LICENSE: 6-Month Apprenticeship (Health District)
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Cosmetology License is 500 hours with a Provisional license, OR 700 hours + a Cosmetology License.
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours (Board of Massage Therapy)
- COSMETICS DEMONSTRATOR: No training required—exam only
- THREADING LOCATIONS & PRACTITIONERS: Must register before January 1 each year
Nevada Cosmetology License Renewal
Cosmetology license renewal in Nevada happens every two years on the licensee's birthday. The cost to renew your license in Nevada is $70. NV does require 30 cosmetology continuing education hours during the two-year licensure period for cosmetology instructors. All other beauty licensees must complete four hours of continuing education during each two-year period. These CEUs must focus on infection control and maintaining a safe environment for your clients.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Nevada
To transfer your cosmetology license to Nevada, you must have a current license in good standing from your home state and proof that you have passed an NIC written exam. All applicants for reciprocity with Nevada under the State Board of Cosmetology jurisdiction must take the Nevada State Law exam. The reciprocity application fee is $325.
NV State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license as well as answer all of your questions about obtaining a Nevada cosmetology license. They may also help in-state applicants apply for a duplicate license. However, you must submit a notarized application and pay a fee of $25.