Electrolygy Schools and Licensing Requirements in Nevada
Theres a reason you need top quality electrolysis school training to become a great technician in Nevada. This set of techniques uses a variety of modalities to remove unwanted hair. No matter why your clients come to you, they will want to feel comfortable; especially since many electrology appointments are very personal in nature. Learning to be an empathetic practitioner to your clients will be one of your most essential skills. There are many electrolysis career options in Nevada, ranging from a dermatologists office to a specialty laser hair removal center.
So, how do we fit into all this, you might be asking? Our mission is simple: help people like you gather the facts about beauty school training, and connect with beauty schools near you. Once you connect with schools, we think youre smart enough to take it from there. Just be sure to weigh all your options and ask each school you speak with if they have career advisors and connections with local electrolysis offices. That way, you can determine if youll be well positioned to transition to a career after your training.
Nevada is one of the first states to have standard licensing requirements for electrologists. To become a licensed electrologist, you must complete 500 hours of training at an approved school or go through a 1,000-hour apprenticeship. You have to pay a $125 application fee and pass the electrology licensing exam before getting your initial practice license.
Get more information on licensing requirements:
Nevada electrology students can expect to learn a complete set of skills if they choose the right program. This includes learning the modalities related to electrolysis treatments, and the Nevada laws for licensure. Many programs also cover topics in patient psychology so you can empathize with those who sometimes require your services under challenging circumstances.
Nevada electrology course topics may include:
- Single and double needle methods
- Thermolysis (manual and needle methods)
- Professional and interpersonal skills
- Ethical and legal issues
Cosmetology license renewal in Nevada happens every two years on the licensee's birthday. The cost to renew your license in Nevada is $70. NV does require 30 cosmetology continuing education hours during the two-year licensure period for cosmetology instructors. All other beauty licensees must complete four hours of continuing education during each two-year period. These CEUs must focus on infection control and maintaining a safe environment for your clients.
Nevada electrologists can look forward to steady job growth over the coming decade as more salons and spas open to serve the growing demand for safe and painless hair removal alternatives. Through 2024, electrologist jobs are projected to grow 12%, which is faster than average for all occupations and similar personal appearance jobs. Earnings are also expected to grow with the highest earnings going to independent or self-employed electrologists who set their own rates.
Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
1785 E. Sahara Ave., Suite 255
Las Vegas, NV 89104
Phone Number: 702-486-6542
Fax Number: 702-369-8064
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license as well as answer all of your questions about obtaining a Nevada cosmetology license. They may also help in-state applicants apply for a duplicate license. However, you must submit a notarized application and pay a fee of $25.
Home to prosperous city centers like Las Vegas and Carson City, Nevada
has encouraged growth in different fields of the beauty industry. Those
looking to be electrologists benefit from a solid knowledge base as
provided by the following groups.
Nevada State Board Of Cosmetology
Aveda Institute Las Vegas
Milan Institute of Cosmetology