Georgia License Requirements
Last Updated: April 25, 2017
The field of beauty and cosmetology presents plenty of opportunities for educated professionals, but to get started in this field, you must meet the requirements of the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers. This involves first choosing a beauty program that meets the minimum training requirements listed below and that is approved by the State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers.
Your training should prepare you for the next step, which is taking the licensing exam administered by the State Board. Once you pass this exam, you will receive your Georgia cosmetology license in the mail. The Georgia cosmetology board exams are administered only in the English language. Georgia testing goes through PSI. If barber license applicants are convicted of a felony, they must go before the board to attend school or get licensed. Each applicant will be considered on a case-by-case basis. Georgia is a state that does allow you to complete your training requirements through apprenticeship hours. Apprenticeship hours are listed with training hours below.
Keep in mind, even though Georgia requires only 5 hours of continuing education during each two-year renewal period, you may wish to consider taking additional cosmetology continuing education hours in Georgia annually to stay current on the latest trends.
If you have specific questions regarding licensure, license renewal, continuing education, or other aspects of cosmetology licensing, contact the Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers for more information.
2017 Georgia Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours / 3000 Hours Apprenticeship
- HAIR DESIGNER LICENSE: 1325 Hours / 2650 Hours Apprenticeship
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 1000 Hours / 2000 Hours Apprenticeship
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 525 Hours / 2050 Hours Apprenticeship
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours / 3000 Hours Apprenticeship
- MASTER BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours / 3000 Hours Apprenticeship
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: License + 750 Hours + Written/Practical Exam
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
Georgia Cosmetology License Renewal
Georgia license renewal requirements differ between license types. Master cosmetologists must renew by March 31 of even-numbered years. Cosmetology instructors, esthetician instructors, nail technician instructors, and barber instructors must renew by June 30 of odd-numbered years. Estheticians and nail technicians must renew by August 31 of odd-numbered years. Barbers are expected to renew by December 31 of even-numbered years. During each two-year renewal period, you must complete 5 hours of continuing education.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Georgia
If you wish to earn your Georgia license through endorsement, you must have a license valid in another state. The Board of Cosmetology and Barbers looks at each application on a case-by-case basis. You may qualify for endorsement if your home state’s training requirements are close to or greater than the requirements of Georgia. Endorsement is not an option for applicants from Alabama, California, Washington D.C., Washington, New York, and Hawaii.
GA State Board of Cosmetology Contact Information
Georgia State Board of Cosmetology
214 State Capitol
Atlanta, GA 30334
Phone Number: 404-656-2881
The Georgia State Board of Cosmetology and Barbers can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license, updating change of name or change of address information, and acquiring out-of-state and other useful forms, as well as answer additional questions about obtaining a Georgia state cosmetology license.