Cosmetology Teacher Training in Maryland
Browse our directory of cosmetology teacher schools in Maryland, or skip ahead to learn about the state's teacher licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Teacher Training in Maryland
We don't currently know of any schools here, but we're always looking for more. Do you manage a beauty school in this area? Reach out to us at schools.beautyschoolsdirectory.com to talk about getting your school featured on this page!
Find Teacher Training Near You
How to Become a Cosmetology Teacher in Maryland
- 0 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for teacher training in Maryland is $47,680.
- There is a predicted 27.0% job increase between 2012 - 2022.
How cool is it that you're thinking about becoming a cosmetology instructor? Are you going to be the quirky, cool teacher, or the more subdued, serious one? No matter what your style, you can be an effective beauty school instructor if you complete the right cosmetology teacher training program. Rosalind Holsey, from West Baltimore, is the owner of Studio 7, and a perfect example of the kind of inspiration and self-improvement that can come from expanding into a beauty instructor role. Because her instructor saw her talent, she was guided towards a level of success she never thought possible.
We have a natural curiosity in the field of all things beauty. And we want to help ensure the next generation of stylists, makeup artists, estheticians, and massage therapists have the best teachers to pass on the knowledge and skills of these trades. Ready to check out schools in your area? Use the search box above or listings below to view your options. Or, continue reading the quick statistics below to learn more about what you can expect from beauty school teacher training programs. If there's anything else you want to know, just reach out to schools near you for details!
State License Requirements
Required to earn a teacher training license
The pathway to an instructor license is easy in Maryland. After becoming a cosmetologist, you must become a senior cosmetologist. This involves working full-time for two years as a licensed cosmetologist. You must then pass the master cosmetologist exam. The master cosmetologist licensing fee is $25. After passing your practical and written exams, you can work as an instructor in Maryland.
When you choose a teacher training program for cosmetologists in Maryland, look for courses that include effective teaching methods, leadership, and curriculum development. This will help you translate your professional experience into coursework that inspires students and helps them reach their goals. You should also prepare to teach students the laws and regulations that pertain to instructors in this state.
Maryland teacher training courses
License renewal period
Continuing education required
To become a cosmetology instructor in Maryland, you will not need to earn an additional license outside of your standard cosmetology license. However, this state expects teachers to accumulate two years of experience, plus take a senior cosmetologists exam before teaching. Once you earn your cosmetology license and gain the necessary experience to teach in the state, you will need to renew your license every two years. The fee for renewal is $25, payable with your renewal application to the Maryland Board of Cosmetologists.
Maryland Teacher Training Careers
Average yearly salary for teacher training in Maryland
Contact the Maryland State Board of Cosmetology
- 500 North Calvert Street 3rd Floor, Baltimore, Maryland 21202
- Website: Maryland Department of Labor
- Email: email@example.com
- Call: 410-230-6190
- Fax: 410-333-6314