Cosmetology Teacher Training in Virginia
Browse our directory of cosmetology teacher schools in Virginia, or skip ahead to learn about the state's teacher licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Teacher Training in Virginia
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Find Teacher Training Near You
Check out the Teacher Training schools these cities in Virginia have to offer.
How to Become a Cosmetology Teacher in Virginia
- 12 Months education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for teacher training in Virginia is $54,130.
- There is a predicted 11.8% job increase between 2012 - 2022.
The state of Virginia has a vibrant salon and day spa scene thanks to the knowledgeable instructors that train beauty professionals in every area of the industry. If you're ready to show the next generation of stylists what you've learned over the years, and how to maintain long term success, then let's talk about beauty school instructor programs. The instructor program at AVI Career Training is an example of a path towards achieving your goal. The curriculum covers important areas such as teaching methods, classroom management and learning styles.
Our passion is helping students get their beauty careers on track. And we love knowing that there are high quality instructors on the horizon for tomorrow's students. All you have to do now is look below to view beauty schools in Virginia. Or you can narrow your options by using the search box at the top of this page. To view the criteria for licensure in Virginia, continue reading before reaching out to schools. We also advise making a list of questions that are important to you, so you don't overlook any details when comparing programs.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a teacher training license
Before you can become a licensed instructor in Virginia, you must earn your cosmetologist's license from a board approved school and pass the exams required by this state. You will also have to take an instructor examination to qualify to teach.
The goal of the right beauty instructor training program is to develop the skills of an effective leader and communicator. You already have the cosmetology skillset that makes your clients smile and keep coming back. Now, you need to learn the next level of skills by comparing the courses for each program in your area. Make sure the school you choose will help you design your own programs that result in effective learning.
Virginia cosmetology teacher training classes to look for:
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Before you can become a licensed instructor in Virginia, you must earn your cosmetologist’s license from a board approved school and pass the exams required by this state. You will also have to take an instructor examination to qualify to teach. The renewal process is the same for instructors and practitioners. You will be expected to renew your license every two years, before the date of expiration, which aligns with the date it was issued. The fee for renewing your license is $40. Virginia does not require practitioners or instructors to take continuing education units to maintain licensure.
Virginia Teacher Training Careers
Average yearly salary for teacher training in Virginia
Contact the Virginia State Board of Cosmetology
- 9960 Mayland Drive, Richmond VA 23233
- Website: Department of Professional and Occupational Regulation
- Email: BarberCosmo@dpor.virginia.gov
- Call: 804-367-8590
- Fax: 866-245-9693