Cosmetology Teacher Training in Delaware
Browse our directory of cosmetology teacher schools in Delaware, or skip ahead to learn about the state's teacher licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Teacher Training in Delaware
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Delaware Learning Institute of Cosmetology – Accredited
Dagsboro, DE 19939
- 500 education hours or 250 apprentice hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 0 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for teacher training in Delaware is $53,770.
- There is a predicted 9.0% job increase between 2012 - 2022.
Are you a current cosmetology professional who is looking for a career change, additional income, or want to fulfill a natural desire to teach others? Why not share your love for the beauty trade with students who are starry-eyed and passionate - and ready to emulate your success! With Delaware cosmetology teacher training programs, you can learn how to translate your skills into lessons that help students prepare for careers. It takes strong communication skills, patience, and commitment to be a good teacher. That's why it's important to weigh your options fully. In 2014, Delaware instituted a law requiring barbers and cosmetologists to operate with a license.
This means you can help raise the bar for beauty teacher training courses in the state. Barbers and cosmetologists are people that clients look forward to seeing; and they often become beloved figures in their communities. You can teach future beauty professionals how to express their creativity, and execute the fundamentals and latest styles. Sound awesome? Use the search box above or check out the listings below to see your options for teacher training. Or keep reading to learn some quick, important info!
State License Requirements
Required to earn a teacher training license
Becoming a cosmetology instructor can bring you closer to your goals of changing the cosmetology industry. Before you can become a teacher, you must have a current cosmetology license. You can then earn 500 training hours at an approved school. If you have a license and two years of work experience, you only need 250 training hours to teach students.
When choosing a Delaware cosmetology instructor program, you should look for a mix of courses and learning outcomes. You'll need to teach students who have different learning styles so it's crucial to develop leadership skills and curriculum tools that meet your student's needs. This starts with choosing the best cosmetology teacher training program in Delaware. The first step is comparing courses from programs near you.
Delaware beauty instructor courses:
License renewal period
Continuing education required
Delaware does not require that students receive a cosmetology instructor’s license in this state. However, you must become a licensed cosmetologist, and renew your license by October 31st of even-numbered years. You will receive your licensure through the Delaware Board of Cosmetology and Barbering. You must also apply for your cosmetology instructor certification, which you can find here. The board also states they will tell you the renewal fee when you are contacted to renew. If you pay late, your fee will equal half of your renewal fee.
Delaware Teacher Training Careers
Average yearly salary for teacher training in Delaware
The Job Outlook for a Beauty School Instructor in Delaware appears to have some room for growth. Beauty School Instructors can expect little competition in the DE market and should consider specializing to easily promote instruction strengths. With a location quotient of 0.79 and an average annual wage of $53,770, Delaware is considered to have a below average employment level for this occupation, but at a decent wage.