The cosmetology industry of Nevada is always growing. To keep up with this growth, the industry needs a steady supply of new cosmetology professionals.
The key to turning out skilled graduates in a variety of beauty specialties is great education.
To become a cosmetology instructor, you must have a current cosmetology license. You can complete 1,000 hours of training as an instructor or 500 hours as a licensed provisional instructor. The initial licensing fee is $60. Esthetics applicants must complete 700 hours of training or 500 hours of training as a licensed provisional instructor; nail technology applicants must complete 500 hours of training.
Learn more about becoming a licensed instructor:
While studying cosmetology instruction, you may review common techniques, procedures, and terms. This is particularly important if you have not been in school for many years. However, you may spend most of your classroom time learning teaching techniques, cosmetology laws and ethics, and how to assess students.
Cosmetology license renewal in Nevada happens every two years on the licensee's birthday. The cost to renew your license in Nevada is $70. NV does require 30 cosmetology continuing education hours during the two-year licensure period for cosmetology instructors. All other beauty licensees must complete four hours of continuing education during each two-year period. These CEUs must focus on infection control and maintaining a safe environment for your clients.
Many adults are returning to school to change their career paths, so the need for cosmetology instructors is growing. Overall, O*Net believes that job openings may increase by 14% through the year 2022. Their statistics indicate that a teacher at this level earns an average salary of $52,400 per year (O*Net, 2015).
Moving from a cosmetology career to a cosmetology teaching career is a big change. You may notice that you have a more regular schedule, particularly when you get assigned classes. You may or may not work weekends, depending on the student base of your beauty school and the needs of your beauty program. However, you should still maintain some flexibility, since being available to answer students questions and provide additional help can make a huge difference in their success. Teaching may also require you to take your work home occasionally, particularly when it comes to grading, creating a curriculum, and communicating with students.
Nevada State Board of Cosmetology
1785 E. Sahara Ave., Suite 255
Las Vegas, NV 89104
Phone Number: 702-486-6542
Fax Number: 702-369-8064
E-mail Address: firstname.lastname@example.org
The Nevada State Board of Cosmetology can help you with replacing a lost cosmetology license as well as answer all of your questions about obtaining a Nevada cosmetology license. They may also help in-state applicants apply for a duplicate license. However, you must submit a notarized application and pay a fee of $25.
When entering into the world of cosmetology, it is always a good idea to associate one's self with other like-minded people. Below, there are just a couple of associations cosmetologists in Nevada can join in order to achieve this.
- National-Interstate Council of State Boards of Cosmetology
- National Latino Cosmetology Assocation
- Nevada State Board of Cosmetology