Cosmetology Teacher Training in New Hampshire
Browse our directory of cosmetology teacher schools in New Hampshire, or skip ahead to learn about the state's teacher licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Teacher Training in New Hampshire
We don't currently know of any schools here, but we're always looking for more. Do you manage a beauty school in this area? Reach out to us at schools.beautyschoolsdirectory.com to talk about getting your school featured on this page!
- 800 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 2 years.
- 28 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for teacher training in New Hampshire is $59,760.
- There is a predicted 9.1% job increase between 2012 - 2022.
As a cosmetology instructor, your career is regulated by the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology, and Aesthetics.
You may choose several routes to become licensed as an instructor.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a teacher training license
If you have a cosmetology license and eight years of work experience, you may apply for licensure in New Hampshire. If you have one year of work experience, you need 500 hours of teacher training. If you do not have any work experience in this field, you must get at least 800 hours of training before you can instruct others. You can also become an instrustor if you have 500 hours with 1 Year Work Experience or Cosmetology License and 8 years of work experience.
In your teaching program, you can learn how to connect with students from different backgrounds and with different learning styles. This involves learning how to teach various cosmetology techniques and assess students' knowledge and performance. You may also revisit common cosmetology procedures, since you must be well-versed in different procedures to be able to teach them. Your training should also cover the laws and standards of New Hampshire's beauty industry.
License renewal period
Continuing education required
In New Hampshire, if you want to become a cosmetology instructor, then you need to get some professional experience first. This state requires instructors earn their cosmetology license, plus acquire 8 years of experience in this area of beauty. You can also take two other approaches: acquire 800 training hours, or 500 training hours and one year of experience. Instructors must take 28 continuing education units every two years. The renewal process takes place every two years by the last day of your birth month. The renewal fee is $40 through the New Hampshire Board of Barbering, Cosmetology and Esthetics.
New Hampshire Teacher Training Careers
Average yearly salary for teacher training in New Hampshire
New Hampshire has a growing need for those who are able to teach vocational skills at the post-high school level. New Hampshire's higher education system is strong, so you may be able to work in several different places as a cosmetology instructor. Between 2012 and 2022, O*Net expects job openings for vocational instructors to increase by 11% in New Hampshire (O*Net, 2012). Teaching salaries in New Hampshire tend to be slightly higher than national averages. Per O*Net, the average salary for a vocational instructor in New Hampshire is $52,400 per year.
When you go into the field of cosmetology instruction, you may find that you're in a great position to make a difference and have a positive impact on people's lives. If you have students who may need extra help or who want to practice a difficult technique, it's important to be available to provide extra help. The students you train today are the cosmetology professionals of tomorrow!
Contact the New Hampshire State Board of Cosmetology
- 7 Eagle Square Concord NH, 03301
- Website: New Hampshire Office of Professional Licensure and Certification
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Call: 603-271-2152