Cosmetology Teacher Training in North Carolina
Browse our directory of cosmetology teacher schools in North Carolina, or skip ahead to learn about the state's teacher licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Teacher Training in North Carolina
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
3306 Capital Boulevard Suite C
Raleigh, NC 27604
500 Four Seasons Town Center
Greensboro, NC 27407
461 East Plaza Drive
Mooresville, NC 28115
Alexander Paul Institute of Hair Design – Accredited
Greenville, NC 27858
Paul Mitchell The School Raleigh – Accredited
Raleigh, NC 27612
- 800 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 1 year.
- 8 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for teacher training in North Carolina is $52,440.
- There is a predicted 16.4% job increase between 2012 - 2022.
If you think cosmetology is trending in North Carolina, you may be on to something. A state of the art cosmetology learning center at Randolph Community College in Asheboro is evidence that students in this state have ample options. Current professionals who want to share their skills with others, make a change in their career, or want to earn extra money can benefit from beauty instructor training. No matter what your skills in the field of beauty, we firmly believe that teaching is a skill that every instructor should study before moving to the head of the class.
The information below can be essential to learning what it takes to qualify for the cosmetology instructor exam and become a licensed professional teacher. We also make it simple for you to search for schools in your area, just in case you're ready to step up now. Just use the search box or scroll through the school listings below to get going! And when you start inspiring your own students, give us a shout on social media and let us know about your success!
State License Requirements
Required to earn a teacher training license
MANICURIST INSTRUCTOR: License + 320 Hours | 2 Years of Experience
ESTHETICS INSTRUCTOR: License + 650 Hours | 3 Years of Experience
North Carolina cosmetology instructor training programs can help you become a more effective leader and mentor to your students. The right program should include courses that focus on classroom management, how to apply various teaching styles to different types of learners, and other key skills. You will also want to know what state laws you need to follow to keep your instructor license and school in good standing.
North Carolina cosmetology instructor training includes:
License renewal period
Continuing education required
If you want to become a cosmetology instructor in North Carolina, there will not be a separate license, but there are some additional requirements. The renewal process is the same: every 3 years by October 1st, you must submit your renewal application and $23 fee to the North Carolina Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners. Additionally, instructors must either complete an 800 hour training program, or be able to prove that you have at least 5 years of experience working in an approved salon. Instructors must also complete 8 continuing education units between each renewal period.
North Carolina Teacher Training Careers
Average yearly salary for teacher training in North Carolina
Beauty school instructors teach prospective hair stylists, nail artists and makeup artists in a formal school setting. The schools they teach at are often either small community colleges or independent, for-profit institutions. The average annual salary for instructors in North Carolina is $49,470, with 119,000 individuals employed in this profession across the country.
Contact the North Carolina State Board of Cosmetology
- 121 Edinbough Dr S Suite 09 Cary, North Carolina 27511
- Website: North Carolina State Board of Cosmetic Art Examiners
- Email: firstname.lastname@example.org
- Call: 919-736-6123
- Fax: 919-678-3012
If you need help updating a change of name or address, acquiring out-of-state transfer forms, or need help with additional questions about obtaining a North Carolina cosmetology license, contact the NC Board using the information above.