Cosmetology Teacher Training in New Mexico
Browse our directory of cosmetology teacher schools in New Mexico, or skip ahead to learn about the state's teacher licensing requirements and job outlook.
Browse All Teacher Training in New Mexico
For School Owners
Don't see your school listed? Want to discuss becoming a featured school in the directory? Contact us to learn more.
Toni & Guy Hairdressing Academy – Accredited
Albuquerque, NM 87110
Find Teacher Training Near You
Check out the Teacher Training schools these cities in New Mexico have to offer.
How to Become a Cosmetology Teacher in New Mexico
- 1,000 education hours are required to become licensed.
- You must renew your license every 1 year.
- 12 continuing education hours are required to renew your license.
- Average salary for teacher training in New Mexico is $54,290.
- There is a predicted 9.4% job increase between 2012 - 2022.
In just about the cutest cosmetology instructor story we've ever read, a New Mexico teacher hosted a 'hair school for dads and daughters' in Los Alamos. This is a perfect example of why it can be a blast to be a cosmetology teacher. There are so many instructors across the nation who do their part to contribute to the betterment of their communities. If this is the kind of career that that makes sense for your skills, then let's turn your daydreams of teaching beauty courses into a reality!
Finding a teacher training program to become a cosmetology instructor in New Mexico shouldn''t be a complicated process. That's why we laid out the quick facts you'll need to get started below. And if you keep going past that you'll run right into our beauty school listings in the state. Or, you can go ahead and use the search box above to narrow your options. When you speak with schools, be sure to tell them your goals, and ask how they help students like yourself succeed after graduation.
State License Requirements
Required to earn a teacher training license
To become a cosmetology teacher in New Mexico, you must complete a 1,000-hour training course that covers state laws, student learning, teaching methods, and student evaluation. You must also have a current license in the subject you want to teach, such as cosmetology, barbering, esthetics, or manicuring. An initial practitioner license is $50 in New Mexico.
New Mexico cosmetology instructors need a whole new set of skills to translate years of practice into the ability to teach others. When you compare teacher training programs, be sure you choose one that helps you learn how to design coursework, adapt to various student learning styles, and apply ethical student retention strategies.
New Mexico cosmetology teacher training should cover:
License renewal period
Continuing education required
To become a cosmetology instructor in New Mexico, it’s pretty clear what you need to do and how you renew your license. Since they do not offer a separate license, you’ll need to earn your standard cosmetologist’s license and complete 1,000 training hours. Instructors must take at least 12 continuing education courses per year. The renewal is every 2 years during your birth month, with a $50 fee. You will need to pay your fee, and direct any additional license question to the New Mexico Licensing and Regulation Department.
New Mexico Teacher Training Careers
Average yearly salary for teacher training in New Mexico
Contact the New Mexico State Board of Cosmetology
- 2550 Cerrillos Road, Santa Fe, NM 87505
- Website: New Mexico Regulaiton and Licensing Department
- Email: email@example.com
- Call: 505-476-4500
- Fax: 505-476-4545