Texas License Requirements
Last Updated: April 25, 2017
In order to obtain a license in cosmetology or another beauty career in Texas, students must complete the requirements listed by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations. When getting a Texas cosmetology license or other beauty practitioner certification, you must first attend a licensed beauty school and complete the required coursework.
All beauty careers, with the exception of electrology, are licensed through the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulations under the umbrella of cosmetology. There are no apprenticeship options for beauty careers in Texas.
After finishing your training, you are required to pass a licensing exam issued by the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation. Texas allows applicants to take the cosmetology board exams in English, Spanish or Vietnamese languages. You may be able to bring in a reader (interpreter) to help with PSI exams in other languages.
Keep in mind, even though Texas only requires 4 continuing education hours to renew all licenses, you may wish to consider taking additional cosmetology continuing education hours to stay ahead in the beauty game. You can use the information below to contact the Texas Department of Licensing and Regulation directly with any questions.
2017 Texas Board of Cosmetology License Requirements
- COSMETOLOGIST LICENSE: 1500 Hours (Operator License) or 1000 Hours and 500 Hours of Related High School Courses
- BARBER LICENSE: 1500 Hours (Class A)
- ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: 750 Hours
- NAIL TECHNICIAN LICENSE: 600 Hours
- MANICURIST/ESTHETICIAN LICENSE: Esthetician License and Nail Technician License OR 600 Manicure Hours and 750 Esthetician Hours OR 1200 Hours in a Joint Program
- EYELASH EXTENSION LICENSE: 320 Hours
- ELECTROLOGIST LICENSE: Contact State Health & Human Services (888-963-7111)
- COSMETOLOGY INSTRUCTOR LICENSE: Operator License + 750 Hours OR 1 year work experience + 500 hours AND 15 Education Credits
- MASSAGE THERAPIST LICENSE: 500 Hours
Texas Cosmetology License Renewal
Texas requires you to renew your license every two years by your original licensure date. The cost to renew your license is $50. Barber licenses are now $55 to renew.
Cosmetologists, manicurists and estheticians under the cosmetology statutes are required to take 4 hours of continuing education during their licensure period. One hour must relate to sanitation and three hours must relate to methods. The laws regarding barber licensure do not require continuing education to renew licenses.
Cosmetology License Reciprocity (Transfer) in Texas
Texas does have reciprocity with many states. For the majority of states, you do not have to complete any additional training or experience to transfer your license to Texas. A handful of states require one year of work experience in addition to your license. Only Florida and New York require two full years of work experience. The cost to transfer your license to Texas is $100.